top of page
Mobile Journalism: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's picturejayshapatel15

Diploma Mills

As senior year is passing by, I have been reflecting on the experiences I have had that are helping me during my last year at Ithaca College. One experience stands out when I think about my future goal of being an investigative news reporter.


During my time at CBS in Los Angeles, one of the few stories I helped the Investigative Unit with was a story about diploma mills. Public employees in Los Angeles acquired jobs using diplomas from non-accredited universities.


Picture courtesy of the Television Academy Twitter account


My first “Goldstein” ambush (as I would call it) was during this story when I saw him confront a man who worked at a local community college as a pharmacy technician instructor. I was able to get hidden camera footage and help the camera man maneuver his way around while filming David speak to the “professor.”


Turns out that story won an Emmy! While this story already was one of the most thrilling and exciting projects I had worked on, I was absolutely thrilled that the I-Team had won this award and that I was able to be a small part of it.


Check out the story below:




4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page