top of page
Mobile Journalism: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's picturejayshapatel15

Midterm Election Recap


Covering the midterm elections this year was challenging and thrilling. My day started at 4 A.M. getting ready for ICTV’s “Election Night” that was airing that same day. I knew I was going to be busy throughout the day so I had to wake up early to do hair and makeup for the show which was airing at 9:30 P.M.


I headed downtown with a fellow classmate who was also taking the same Mobile and Social Media Journalism course as I was at 6 A.M., where we covered what was happening at the Tompkins County Library polling station. We ended up interviewing a formal mayoral candidate and a couple of voters.


We headed back to campus after an hour and a half to write a blog post for Ithaca Week and started preparing for “Election Night” coverage that day.


During the show that night, I felt like I was getting the real experience of being live. We were getting numbers and results from assistant producers throughout the show and had to think on our toes about what to talk about and how to report fast but accurately.


While it was nerve racking and my day consisted of being up and working from 4 A.M. to 11:30 P.M., I felt like I was in the real world of journalism working long hours, with little to no sleep, and eating newsroom pizza!


Election Day Aftermath, Photo Taken By: Julia Rongo


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page